The Marine Prop Riders club was established in 1951 to promote Inboard Hydroplane Racing in the Detroit area.

Our racers range in age from their teens to 70-some, and represent at least seven classes of racing from the 1.0 Litre class to the thundering supercharged big-block powered Grand Prix hydros, as well as the Unlimited Hydroplanes that race for the APBA Gold Cup on the Detroit River each summer. We also have members in the Vintage class who run exhibition laps with the raceboats of years gone by.

We set World Records!

MPR members are involved in presenting a number of races in the region, many are drivers and others participate as crew, scorers, referees, rescue personnel and event volunteers. You're welcome to join us.

MPR Membership form for 2022

MPR By-Laws - MPR Awards Policy

Dayton Test and Tune 2022
May 5, 2022

Each year we go to a pre-season test & tune event for everyone to get back on the water and test their off-season changes. Drone footage by Dillon Goodell, then his onboard video.

MPR at the 2022 Detroit Autorama
March 10, 2022

Christina Wilson's S-20 at the 2022 Detroit Autorama. Beautiful!

2021 Winners and Awards
November 17, 2021

Congratulations to our 2021 Winners!

Overall High Points – Chris Ritz
1 Litre – Chris Ritz
2.5 Stock – Joe Kreitzer
2.5 Mod – Dave Turner
5 Litre – Gary Chalfont
National Modified – BJ Maduri

Prop Rider of the Year – Fred Alter (accepted by Peggy Kennard)
Hard Luck Award – Steve Linn
Doc Terry Award – John Grigg III "Scooter"
Jim and Elsie Edwards Memorial Vintage Award – Paul Poledink
Hard Charger Award – Jeff Sankuer

MPR member Andrew Tate - 2016 H1 Rookie award
January 15, 2017

Andrew Tate was awarded the 2016 H1 Unlimited Rookie trophy.
Watch his first win in Seattle 2016, the race begins 5 minutes in:

Maraldo / King win the 2016 APBA Summer Nationals!
July 23, 2016

This race was something to see... Andrew Tate way out in front but breaks down just short of the finish line, UGH! After that what could be better than Mario Maraldo (owner) and Bobby King (driver) taking the win in Baby Doll III !