This is our general news page, you can also view archives of our club newsletter.

Local Races in 2011
December 20, 2010

The dates have been set for these local inboard hydroplane races:

  • Walled Lake Thunder - June 11-12
  • The APBA Gold Cup - July 8-10
  • Quake On The Lake - July 16-17

For up-to-date info visit our Local Races page.

2010 MPR Award Winners
November 23, 2010

Congratulations to all the 2010 MPR Award Winners!

High Point Awards:
Overall MPR High Points - Jim Sechler
Grand Prix - Mario Maraldo
GNH - Jimmy Deel
5 Liter - Tom English
2.5 Liter Modified - Royce Richards & George English
2.5 Liter Stock - Christina Wilson
1 Liter Modified - Jim Sechler

Honor Awards:
Marine Prop Rider of the Year - Paul Poledink
Rookie of the Year - Chris Ritz
Hard Luck Award - Chris Ritz
Doc Terry Award - Patrick Sankuer Jr.
Vintage Award - Paul Poledink
Unsung Hero / Grant Ward Award - Sam Anspach

2010 MPR Awards Banquet
September 23, 2010

Be sure to set aside Saturday November 13th to attend the 2010 Marine Prop Riders Award Banquet!  This is our night to get dressed up and congratulate all the award winners and have a good time together away from the race course.

Saturday November 13th 2010.  6:00pm until midnight, dinner at 7:00pm.

ConCorde Inn (same location as last year) - 44315 Gratiot Avenue, Clinton Township MI, 48036

$25 per person (Cash bar)

RSVP to:
Mario & Kathy Maraldo, 586.468.3204

Anyone who brings a gift basket will receive 20 tickets towards the drawings.

MPR Members are World Champs!
July 31, 2010

Congratulations to the MPR boat owners that came out on top at the ‘Triple Crown’ race held in Cambridge Maryland - these teams brought home the honors for the US Summer Nationals, Canadian Nationals and UIM World Championship titles!

The Y-1 Fast Eddie Too owned by Jim Sechler and driven by Dan Kanfoush.

The A-52 Fat Chance Too owned by Royce Richards & George English and driven by Tom Thompson.

Be sure to congratulate them when you see them!

Celina race - CANCELLED
July 30, 2010


It is with deep regret and frustration that Myron Buxton and Allen Baskett, Co-Chairs of the Celina Governors Cup Regatta Committee announced today that the 2010 Race has been cancelled.

“The continued deterioration of the water in and around our race course area has left us with no choice but to cancel our race in the interest of safety for our volunteers, the racers, and all the support personnel that it takes to conduct the Celina Governors Cup Regatta” says Baskett.

“Our committee has been working all year in preparation for this year’s event” says Buxton. “The racers and crews want to race, and our sponsors are supporting our efforts. It’s a shame that circumstances beyond of the control of our committee and their efforts have put us in the position of having to cancel this year’s event”.

Celina Governor's Cup Regatta

August 28 - 29, 2010

Co-Chair Co-Chair
Myron Buxton Allen Baskett
419-733-3043 419-305-5361

APBA Gold Cup - July 9 - 11
July 5, 2010

The Gold Cup race is this weekend, July 9th through the 11th!

Many MPR members are involved in the presentation of the event including drivers. Others work as turn judges, launch crew, manage pit operations, provide public relations support, and much much more.

We encourage you to attend this long-time Detroit tradition of racing for the oldest trophy in all of motor sports, the APBA Gold Cup.

See the Gold Cup web site for all the info:

Walled Lake race - June 12 & 13
June 7, 2010

This weekend, June 12 & 13, the limited inboard hydroplanes return for a race on Walled Lake to kick off the local racing season!

The action will run roughly from 11am - 5pm each day. Free admission to the beach area, pit access about $10.

More info:

Map of the area:

See you there!

Dayton Testing / Driving School
April 7, 2010

The dates have been set for the Dayton test session in combination with the APBA Driving School:

Testing: May 22-23 2010
Driving School: May 21-23 2010  (May 21 is safety cell testing in the evening)